Governing Council of The Aeronautical Society of India
Council of AeSI Consists of

Dr.Vijay Kumar Saraswat, President

Carly KowalskiVijay Kumar Saraswat is an Indian scientist who formerly served as the Director General of the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and the Chief Scientific Advisor to the Indian Minister of Defence. He retired on 31 May 2013 and presently Member of NITI Aayog i.e. Planning Commission of India. Dr. Saraswat is the key scientist in the development of the Prithvi missile and its induction in the Indian armed forces. He is a recipient of the Padma Shri from the Government of India.

Dr.R.K Tyagi, President Elect

James DevonPresident-Elect, The Aeronautical Society of India. Director, Board of Air India and former Chairman of Hindustan Aeronautics Limited(HAL) from March 2012 to January 2015.Chairman of the Board and Managing Director of Pawan Hans Helicopters Limited (PHHL) from May 2007 to February 2012. A Doctor of philosophy in Management studies from Agra University.

Mr. G. M. Rao, Past President

Dr. Bhaskar Roy,Vice President

Sandra HodgkinsFellow/ Vice-President/ Chairman-Academic Committee, The Aeronautical Society of India. Professor, Aerospace Engineering Department,I.I.T., Bombay.36 Years as Faculty of IIT Kharagpur and IIT Bombay. Specialisation in Aircraft Propulsion.

Wg. Cdr. B.S. Singh Deo ,Vice President
Dominique Barclay
Wg. Cdr. B. S. Singh Deo is a former Indian Air Force Test Pilot, Flying Instructor and Air Force Examiner. He was involved in setting up of Pawan Hans Limited in 1986 and was DGCA Examiner on several types of helicopters. Currently Wg. Cdr. Singh Deo is Regional Head of Bell Helicopter’s South Asia Region.

Dr. V.Adimurthy, Vice President
Brian MurphyDr. Adimurthy received Ph.D. degree in 1973 for his work on hypersonic reentry flows from IIT, Kanpur, and then joined Indian Space Research Organisation. During more than four decades with ISRO, he made contributions in the areas of aerodynamics, trajectory optimization, space dynamics, space debris studies, lunar and interplanetary mission design, and multi-disciplinary design optimization. 

Mr. Puthalath Sukumaran Nair, Vice President

Julia Gillis
A Master of Arts in Political Science/Public Administration with a Post Graduate Diploma in Public Sector Management from Leeds University (UK), Mr P.S. Nair has over 39 years of diverse experience in the airport sector- both in the public and private domains.

Mr. Shyam Chetty, Vice President

Carly Kowalski
Mr. Shyam Chetty was the Former Director of the CSIR National Aerospace Laboratories, Bangalore, and held additional responsibilities as Director CSIR-4PI, Bangalore, Project Director of the National Control Law team for LCA,  and Chairman of the Systems Engineering Cluster of NAL. He has over 40 years of experience in the field of Aircraft Flight Mechanics & Control.  His research interests include Flight Control System Design & Development, Aircraft Simulation & Modelling, Handling Qualities & Aircraft Pilot Coupling, Computer Aided Flight Control Design & Rapid Prototyping Techniques.

Mr. C. D. Balaji, Vice President

Mr. Sandeep Singh, Vice President

Dr.R.K.Sharma, Member

Peter BachmanDr Rakesh Kumar Sharma is Project Director and Outstanding Scientist (Scientist ‘H’)  in Prestigious Defence Research and Development Laboratory (DRDL)  in Defence Research & Development Organization (D R D O). About 33 years of experience in Project Management  and Aerodynamic design, analysis  and Development of missiles leading to successful flight testing.
Julia GillisIn 1973 and Joined Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre of ISRO,worked for the development of Earth Storable and Cryogenic Engines for ISRO's Launch Vehicles PSLV,GSLV MK II and GSLV MK III . Earth Storable Vikas Engine has Successfully flown in the PSLV achieving Chandrayan and Mangalyan missions in the year 2008 and 2014.Vikas engine has worked as per the specification in all the missions of PSLV.This engine forms part  of Both the GSLVs also. 

Mr. Masood Hussainy, Member

Brian MurphyRecruited to the Tata Group through Tata Administrative Services (TAS) since 1999 & worked in various companies across the group. Experienced in working with various functions such as program management, business development, brand marketing, human resources & finance. Key role in expansion of the Tata Group into Aerospace & Defense, coal to liquid sectors. Responsible for setting up of green field operations of Tata Advanced Systems, Hyderabad.

Mr. P. Jayapal,Member
Mr. M.S.Boora,Member
Mr. Vipin Kumar,Member
Mr. Jitendra Singh, Member
Mr. M. Balakrishna,Member
Mr. Jitendra J Jadhav,Member
Dr. S.R.Chakravarthy,Member
Mr. Stephane Lauret, Member
Mr. Praveen Chandra,Member

Mr. Lalit Gupta, Honorary Sec. General

Julia GillisShri Lalit Gupta, JDG in DGCA. He is  an alumni of Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur. He has vast experience in design & development of aircraft, type certification, air transport, flight safety, flight operations, aviation environment, etc. He has worked on various committees of Ministry of Civil Aviation, Ministry of DoNER and DGCA on policy formulation to ensure safe, secure and sustainable growth of aviation sector in the country. 

David IveyMr. Debashis Saha, born in Kolkata in the year 1969 and completed Graduation from Kolkata University in the year 1989. From childhood was passionate to join in airlines and aviation industry and has a rich 23   Years’ experience in Aviation- Government and Regulatory Relations, Commercial, Sales and Marketing, Network and schedule planning, Corporate Affairs. My total experience comprise of start up of 2 Airlines - Citylink airways and AirSahara and also starting up of opening of 100% subsidiary office in NewDelhi  for world's largest helicopter manufacturing company- Airbus helicopters. Have experience of 09 years in Leadership role.